Skip to the Content

TEMA Headlines - Back  

May 10, 2011

Statewide status update

The State Emergency Operations Center in Nashville has issued a statewide status report. This information is current as of 12:30 p.m. CDT on Tuesday, May 10, 2011.

TEMA’s media line is 615-741-0482. Public Information Officers will be available for media interviews during operating hours of 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. Monday-Friday.

Real time updates about the flood relief/recovery efforts and maps of areas anticipated to flood are posted at

Memphis and Shelby County residents without internet service can get information by phone at the 24-Hour Flood Watch Hotline 901-324-8799. Text requests to: 901-290-7530.

Shelby County Emergency Management Agency Contact Information
Main Number: 901-515-2525
Mid-South Red Cross 901-726-1690.
Help/Volunteer Hotline – 901-324.8799, text questions to 901-290.7530

The Federal Emergency Management Agency has declared 15 Tennessee counties – Bledsoe, Bradley, Cocke, Dyer, Greene, Johnson, Hamilton, Lake, McMinn, Monroe, Obion, Rhea, Shelby, Stewart and Washington – eligible for federal assistance to individuals and families who have suffered damage from the recent tornadoes, storms and flooding. The process starts with a phone call 800-621-FEMA (3362) or TTY 800-462-7585. Online, it’s or through smartphones at

Individual Registrations – 2,358
Total Funds to Individuals – $1,212,957.78

Four disaster recovery centers have opened in Tennessee to help those whose homes or businesses were affected by recent storms and tornadoes in Bradley, Hamilton, Greene and Washington counties. The centers will be open from 8 a.m. to 8 p.m. local time seven days a week until further notice.

Bradley County
10 Church St.
Cleveland, Tenn. 37311

Hamilton County
Hulsey Wellness Centers (Southern Adventist University)
4870 University Drive
Collegedale, Tenn. 37363

Greene County
Camp Creek Elementary School
2941 Camp Creek Road.
Greeneville, Tenn. 37743

Washington County
125 East Jackson Blvd.
Suite 11B
Jonesborough, Tenn. 37659

Representatives from the Federal Emergency Management Agency, Tennessee Emergency Management Agency, U.S. Small Business Administration and other agencies will staff the centers to explain disaster assistance programs and help survivors apply. Recovery specialists also can help disaster survivors with referrals to other assistance programs.

The Tennessee Department of Human Services, with USDA approval, began issuing SNAP (Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program, formerly food stamps) benefits to eligible residents of four tornado-ravaged counties that have been federally declared disaster areas following the late April storms.

The benefits are for eligible residents of Bradley, Greene, Hamilton and Washington counties. Applications for SNAP disaster benefits can be submitted Monday through Saturday, May 9-14, and on Monday, May 16,

For more information, including a list of key questions and answers about the assistance program, please visit the DHS website at

There are five American Red Cross Shelters open (16 on standby) in West Tennessee with 26 occupants. Memphis and Shelby County have opened three faith-based shelters (one on standby) with 444 occupants.

To help displaced residents find housing quickly, the Tennessee Housing Development Agency is urging all property providers to list available rental housing on the free, statewide housing locater service as soon as possible. The process of listing takes about 10 minutes and is completely free.

If you have available housing, please list it on or contact a toll-free call center to add properties today at 1-877-428-8844. Listing and searching are always completely free. The service can be accessed at no cost online 24 hours.

There are 38 confirmed fatalities in Tennessee.

Bledsoe County – 4
Bradley County – 9
Crockett County – 1
Franklin County – 1
Greene County – 7
Hamilton County – 11
Johnson County – 2
Sequatchie County – 1
Washington County – 1
Williamson County – 1

There have been 94 confirmed injuries with the majority being reported from Hamilton County.